Olam Prize for Innovation in Food Security was launched in partnership with international scientific organisation, Agropolis Fondation.

Scientific innovation will be essential to meet the UN’s Sustainable Development Goal #2: End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture. The Olam Prize aims to advance knowledge and recognise innovation in world food security, by rewarding an outstanding research project for its potential impact on the availability, affordability, accessibility or adequacy of food.

Applications for the 2nd edition of the Olam Prize for Innovation in Food Security open on
12 October 2016 and close on 25 January 2017.

We invite applications from research projects in plant science, soil science, nutritional science, agricultural sciences or other field of scientific research impacting food security, focused on any part of the agricultural supply chain. The winning research project will receive US$50,000 unrestricted funding to support its further development.

The Olam Prize is judged and awarded in conjunction with Agropolis Fondation’s Louis Malassis International Scientific Prize for Agriculture and Food, which recognises individuals for their contribution to research, development and capacity building to improve sustainability of food and agricultural systems, food security and poverty reduction.

The winner of the Prize will receive US$50,000 (including VAT where applicable) which is to be spent unrestrictedly on furthering the research project and/or scaling up its impact.

The Prize consists of the following categories:

  •     Louis Malassis Distinguished Scientist Prize is conferred to an outstanding scientist, or a group of scientists who has made significant contribution in the field covered by the Prize through his/her (or their collective) work.
  •     Louis Malassis Young Promising Scientist Prize is giventoa young individual, or a group of young scientists, who has carried out original and promising work in the field covered by the Prize.
  •     Louis Malassis Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development Prize is awarded to a person still in activity whose professional career is devoted to agricultural development, be it in the field of research, innovation, development or policy.



Application is open to all stakeholders from an academic or research organization (private or public), a civil society organization (e.g., NGOs, farmers organizations), or the private sector (e.g., small/medium enterprises).  The winner in each category will receive € 20,000.

DEADLINE: 25 January 2017

Click Here for Application Details

Agribusiness Information