australia award

Australia Awards for Africa Scholarships and Fellowships for Africans 2016

Australia Awards funds qualified African candidates for masters studies in Australia in priority subjects that include agriculture and food security; natural resource management (including mining and mining governance); public policy; health; and water and sanitation. Additionally, the program offers short-term fellowships for professional training in Africa and/or Australia.

Australia Awards Short Courses

Application Deadline: 18th December 2015.

Priority areas are:

  • Agricultural Productivity
  • Extractives
  • Public Policy

Specific Requirements

  • You must be between 25 and 50 years of age at the date of your application
  • You have at least three years’ post-graduation work experience in a relevant policy, practice, research or reform role. Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.

General Eligibility

  • have citizenship of and be currently living in the country of your nationality
  • not be married to/or be a de facto of, or engaged to be married to, a person who holds or is eligible to hold Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent resident status
  • satisfy any specific criteria established by the applicant’s country and/or government of citizenship
  • satisfy all requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) for a DFAT student visa
  • satisfy any specific admission requirements of the Institution at which the short course is to be undertaken
  • hold a Bachelor’s Degree or equivalent



Agribusiness Information